Master of Fine Arts

The English Department offers a three-year Master of Fine Arts degree program that provides students with the time and opportunity to produce a book-length final manuscript.

Our graduate writing faculty members have distinguished themselves nationally and internationally through numerous publications and awards. They include poets Yona Harvey, Dawn Lundy Martin, and Diana Khoi Nguyen; fiction writers Angie Cruz, Bill Lychack, and Irina Reyn; and nonfiction writers Erin Anderson, Jeanne Marie Laskas, Michael Meyer, and Peter Trachtenberg. Each year we also welcome a number of distinguished visiting faculty.

For requirements, see the Graduate Handbook.

For more information, see the answers to frequently asked questions and other materials on the Writing Program site.